“Home is Not a Place, It’s a Feeling”

As most of my followers know, I currently reside in sunny California and this is where the majority of my local adventures take place. When a stranger inquires about where I am from, I instantly respond with “California”. It’s been programmed into all of us to remain on the surface with such general questions however answers typically go much deeper than the obvious. Since I run a travel and adventure blog, I think it is appropriate to introduce all of my followers to my “home”. Let me start off by saying I am from California, my home is in Indiana. I was born and raised in Orange County, CA. I have never lived elsewhere, although I plan to experience something new in the future.

Growing up I spent several summers in Indiana with a part of my family. This includes my aunt, uncle, cousin and Grandma. I would fly out there for weeks on end with my parents to visit. It is an entirely different world from the one I am used to. It is almost incomparable. The scenery, the lifestyle and the people are so foreign-like to fellow Californians and the California lifestyle. I frequently reference Indiana as my home. You will often hear me say, “I miss home today” or “I wish I were back home”.


“Home is not a place, it’s a feeling”


I do not physically live in Indiana and I may never live there but it will always be my home. It is my home because of the people who are there and the moments I experience while I’m there. I find a home in my Grandma’s laugh. I sense the feeling of home when I hear someone refer to soda as “pop”. Home is when my cousin and I drive hours away to Ohio to spend all day at Cedar Point. Home will always be waking up to the smell of my Grandma making coffee. Home is seeing my Mom’s face light up when she hugs her Mom for the first time in a year. I feel at home when I am surrounded by these little moments that remind me that I am incredibly blessed. No matter how far I travel, no matter where I decide to live and no matter the beauty of any other place I visit….Indiana and my family will always be home. To my followers, I want to ask you where your home is. Is it where you live? Do you find home in a person? Perhaps it’s a moment. I’d love to hear from you and learn more about each of you.

Until Next Time, Safe Travels!

IMG_1139

IMG_1140

IMG_1142 ย  ย ย IMG_1141

13 thoughts on ““Home is Not a Place, It’s a Feeling”

  1. I love this post, and I couldn’t agree more! My family moved a lot when I was young, from Miami, where I was born, to California, where I grew up, and then back to Florida, where I went to college. There’s so much I love about both places. But I consider Orlando, where I live now, home. It’s where my husband and I started living together, where our friends live, and it’s also the place where we try new things like restaurants and farmer’s markets. I think home could be anywhere, as long as we are together.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this! I grew up in a suburb of Chicago and always felt lost. Once I moved to the city of Chicago after college and found my nitch in a neighborhood that I loved, I knew this was my “home”- andwhere I belong. While I would love to move to a new state at a point, it is for once weird to think about leaving my “home”. Come visit next time you’re in Indiana! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. I’m so happy you enjoyed it and can relate on some level. I know the feeling-that’s for sure! I’ve been to Chicago once before to attend a Warped Tour Concert. It was awesome however Id like to spend more time there in the future! Safe travels! โค๏ธ

      Like

  3. Thanks for the like on Misgivings , Tbilisi to Yerevan. Home for us is where the WiFi connects automatically. We have thought and discussed the sense of home that is not necessarily attached to a physical location. Since July we are rootless but not homeless as we journeyed from Italy, through the Balkans, to Istanbul, on across Turkey to Georgia and Armenia. Each place became home as we began to understand how each neighborhood worked. I hope to post more on this I a future post about what we carried. Cheers

    Like

    1. Greetings from California! You sound like you’re on white the excursion. Many safe travels to you and Id love to hear more about the adventures you endure on the way. Im so pleased you are able to find a home in everywhere you visit. I hope to some day embark on travels like yours.

      Like

  4. i have many homes ! My parents home where I grew up, my apartment in Quebec City but also now my apartment in Paris with my boyfriend ! It just depends who I live with to make me feel home !

    Like

  5. Reblogged this on Gap Year Adventures and commented:
    As someone who has many homes (Johannesburg, Knysna, Cape Town and New York) this post speaks volumes.

    Home isn’t always the place you’re born. It is the people you’re with and the moments you share. Home is a feeling, not a place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

